It Takes Time To Move into the Big Bad City

I’ve been unofficially living in Rotterdam for four months, but I’ve been in and out so many times during that period, it’s only the last four weeks I’ve really felt like I’m living here. And theres so much to get in order, I have a hard time being engaged in what I actually sent out to do here: become a freelance dancer/choreographer.

So,

I’ve been putting myself in situations which force me to once again focus on creativity.

  • Going to watch performances with other makers has proven fundamental to inspire me.
  • Meeting with colleagues to hear about their recent endeavors and reflect with them about my ideas and struggles
  • Making appointments with potential mentors of mine who have studio space, time and guidance.

In the last week, I felt a turn around. Things are coming together creatively now.

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 4.45.09 PM

There was a certain slowness or laziness I was feeling in my thoughts; I wasn’t engaged actively and critically in my work. Now, I again find it IMPORTANT to engage my mind, like a NECESSITY. This is one of the keys to artistic work: a complete dedication to the work as the world does not turn otherwise.

Screen Shot 2014-11-04 at 4.47.07 PM